Networked Media and Music Sharing

I think one of the most useful things I can gain from this course is the ability to broadcast my thoughts and voice about the topics that interest me, gaining a following that I can share my music to. I’ve found this with my band’s page, and have seen this with every single band that’s ever had an Instagram ever, often the easiest way to gain a following is follow a large number of people yourself. This can be effective in some cases, but often you’re not going to gain a network of like minded people. Follower count doesn’t always equal follower-ship. Through blogging, however, I think that people can find people who have similar ideas and opinions as me, as well as like similar genres, creating myself a network that will be more responsive than just a ‘follow me back!’.

I’ve found this with the blogs that i have followed when I’ve actively sorted out something that interests me. Whether they are music news sites where I get updates about bands and festivals, or a Youtube vlogger that I find interesting. I find that I’m much more inclined to interact with, like, comment, or follow links from these blogs and sites, as apposed to liking a picture from a band that followed me on Instagram and then completely forgetting about them.

Leave a Reply

