Assessment Task One

Throughout the last five weeks of the course I have expanded my knowledge of blogging immensely. I have also found that I enjoy many parts of writing online that I hadn’t tried before, such as the informal style of writing, where it does not need to be academic or journalistic, but can instead be whatever you choose it to be. I have also found that I enjoy the freedom of topics that I can choose from to blog about, as it gives me room to explore my interests, and to build on various ideas by linking to other blogs and websites through hypertext.

There are many positives and negatives when it comes to blogging, such as not needing a word limit, unless I set one for myself, allowing me to say what I need or want to say without needed to add sentences, or take away parts of what I wanted to sat to reach a limit. As a writer this can be both a challenge and a blessing, as I feel that my posts are at times too short, however on the other hand, they are free from unnecessary clutter. For me personally, I feel as though I need to set deadlines for myself in order to make sure that posts are not left in the ‘Drafts’ folder while I try to think of concluding sentences for them, which is evident in the order of some of my posts, such as the response to week three’s reading.

This course has also allowed me to write about myself and my own works, rather than reviews someone else, or speaking only about my inspiration. This is something that I have demonstrated in my post where I critique my own draft of a song, and explain what I like and what I would like to improve within it. I have also used it to vocalise any troubles that I have with my music making, as that is what I have chosen the direction of my blog to be about. 

I have found the course material involving hypertext is relevant to my blog, as I can use it to respond to other blog entries or articles that I have read, without needing to give an in-depth summary of what the original article is about. This gives the reader of my blog, as Landow (109, 2006) discusses “…a far more active role” where they can follow the hypertext back to the original article I speak about, following a nonlinear pattern in their reading.

Overall, I have found that this course has challenged me as a writer to write more often, and more freely about a range of subjects that interest me. With more consistent uploading of material, I believe that my blog will be able to reflect the work and progress I have made through Networked Media.

Landow, George P. Hypertext 3.0: Critical Theory and New Media in an Era of Globalization. Baltimore: John Hopkins University Press, 2006. Print. 107-124

Leave a Reply

